It’s simple to place someone on your block list, on their profile, click the three dots …
Then click on block user.
You may have to refresh the chat page after you have blocked the person. They will no longer be able to see you or speak to you, or interact with you, and vice versa.
You can remove them by clicking on your friends list and then block list.